• Music
    • CDs
    • Vinyl
  • Gift Cards
  • Movies
    • DVD
    • Blu-Ray
    • 3D Blu-Ray
    • 4K Ultra HD
  • Video Games
    • PS4
    • Playstation 3
    • Xbox One
    • XBox 360
    • Nintendo Switch
    • Nintendo 3DS
    • Wii U
    • Wii
    • Sony PSV
    • Nintendo DS
    • Retro/Classic
  • Books
    • Children's
    • Fiction
    • Graphic Novels
    • Nonfiction
    • Young Adult
    • Coloring Books
    • Audio Books
  • Gifts
  • Gaming
    • Gaming Cards
    • Board Games & Books
  • Specials
    • New This Week
    • Sony Legacy Sale. Hits for $9.97 or Less!
    • Upcoming Video Games
    • Vinyl - latest updates
    • Upcoming Vinyl
    • Collectable Vinyl
    • Blu-ray Preview
    • Upcoming Book Releases
    • Old Record Store Day
  • About
    • About us
    • Bull Moose Points
    • Consignment
    • Video Game Console Return Policy
    • Contact us
    • Contests
    • This Week @ Bull Moose
    • FAQs
    • Gift Cards
    • Employment
    • Locations/Hours
    • My Account
    • Newsletter Signup
    • Privacy Policy
  • Menu
    • Music
      • CDs
      • Vinyl
    • Gift Cards
    • Movies
      • DVD
      • Blu-Ray
      • 3D Blu-Ray
      • 4K Ultra HD
    • Video Games
      • PS4
      • Playstation 3
      • Xbox One
      • XBox 360
      • Nintendo Switch
      • Nintendo 3DS
      • Wii U
      • Wii
      • Sony PSV
      • Nintendo DS
      • Retro/Classic
    • Books
      • Children's
      • Fiction
      • Graphic Novels
      • Nonfiction
      • Young Adult
      • Coloring Books
      • Audio Books
    • Gifts
    • Gaming
      • Gaming Cards
      • Board Games & Books
    • Specials
      • New This Week
      • Sony Legacy Sale. Hits for $9.97 or Less!
      • Upcoming Video Games
      • Vinyl - latest updates
      • Upcoming Vinyl
      • Collectable Vinyl
      • Blu-ray Preview
      • Upcoming Book Releases
      • Old Record Store Day
  • About
    • About us
    • Bull Moose Points
    • Consignment
    • Video Game Console Return Policy
    • Contact us
    • Contests
    • This Week @ Bull Moose
    • FAQs
    • Gift Cards
    • Employment
    • Locations/Hours
    • My Account
    • Newsletter Signup
    • Privacy Policy
  • Menu
    • Music
      • CDs
      • Vinyl
    • Gift Cards
    • Movies
      • DVD
      • Blu-Ray
      • 3D Blu-Ray
      • 4K Ultra HD
    • Video Games
      • PS4
      • Playstation 3
      • Xbox One
      • XBox 360
      • Nintendo Switch
      • Nintendo 3DS
      • Wii U
      • Wii
      • Sony PSV
      • Nintendo DS
      • Retro/Classic
    • Books
      • Children's
      • Fiction
      • Graphic Novels
      • Nonfiction
      • Young Adult
      • Coloring Books
      • Audio Books
    • Gifts
    • Gaming
      • Gaming Cards
      • Board Games & Books
    • Specials
      • New This Week
      • Sony Legacy Sale. Hits for $9.97 or Less!
      • Upcoming Video Games
      • Vinyl - latest updates
      • Upcoming Vinyl
      • Collectable Vinyl
      • Blu-ray Preview
      • Upcoming Book Releases
      • Old Record Store Day
    • About
      • About us
      • Bull Moose Points
      • Consignment
      • Video Game Console Return Policy
      • Contact us
      • Contests
      • This Week @ Bull Moose
      • FAQs
      • Gift Cards
      • Employment
      • Locations/Hours
      • My Account
      • Newsletter Signup
      • Privacy Policy
Specials
New This Week
Sony Legacy Sale. Hits for $9.97 or Less!
Upcoming Video Games
Vinyl - latest updates
Upcoming Vinyl
Collectable Vinyl
Blu-ray Preview
Upcoming Book Releases
Old Record Store Day

Thomas C. Foster

How to Read Novels Like a Professor

Thomas C. Foster How To Read Novels Like A Professor A Jaunty Exploration Of The World's Favorite Lite
$11.19 New
$5.97 Pre-owned
Out of stock but available. Should ship within 1 week.

Add To Basket
Low stock - should ship Saturday

Add To Basket




Main description:

Of all the literary forms, the novel is arguably the most discussed . . . and fretted over. From Miguel de Cervantes's Don Quixote to the works of Jane Austen, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, and today's masters, the novel has grown with and adapted to changing societies and technologies, mixing tradition and innovation in every age throughout history.

Thomas C. Foster—the sage and scholar who ingeniously led readers through the fascinating symbolic codes of great literature in his first book, How to Read Literature Like a Professor—now examines the grammar of the popular novel. Exploring how authors' choices about structure—point of view, narrative voice, first page, chapter construction, character emblems, and narrative (dis)continuity—create meaning and a special literary language, How to Read Novels Like a Professor shares the keys to this language with readers who want to get more insight, more understanding, and more pleasure from their reading.


Connect With Us

SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment