• Music
    • CDs
    • Vinyl
  • Gift Cards
  • Movies
    • DVD
    • Blu-Ray
    • 3D Blu-Ray
    • 4K Ultra HD
  • Video Games
    • XBox 360
    • Xbox One
    • PS4
    • Playstation 3
    • Wii
    • Nintendo 3DS
    • Sony PSV
    • Nintendo DS
    • Wii U
  • Books
    • Children's
    • Fiction
    • Graphic Novels
    • Nonfiction
    • Young Adult
    • Coloring Books
    • Audio Books
  • Gifts
  • Gaming
    • Gaming Cards
    • Board Games & Books
  • Specials
    • 33.3% Off Vinyl Sale
    • Black Friday Vinyl
    • New This Week
    • Spose*Mart
    • Upcoming Vinyl
    • Collectable Vinyl
    • Blu-ray Preview
    • Old Record Store Day
    • Holiday Gift Ideas
  • About
    • About us
    • Bull Moose Points
    • Consignment
    • Video Game Console Return Policy
    • Contact us
    • Contests
    • This Week @ Bull Moose
    • FAQs
    • Gift Cards
    • Employment
    • Locations/Hours
    • My Account
    • News and Events
    • Newsletter Signup
    • Privacy Policy
  • Menu
    • Music
      • CDs
      • Vinyl
    • Gift Cards
    • Movies
      • DVD
      • Blu-Ray
      • 3D Blu-Ray
      • 4K Ultra HD
    • Video Games
      • XBox 360
      • Xbox One
      • PS4
      • Playstation 3
      • Wii
      • Nintendo 3DS
      • Sony PSV
      • Nintendo DS
      • Wii U
    • Books
      • Children's
      • Fiction
      • Graphic Novels
      • Nonfiction
      • Young Adult
      • Coloring Books
      • Audio Books
    • Gifts
    • Gaming
      • Gaming Cards
      • Board Games & Books
    • Specials
      • 33.3% Off Vinyl Sale
      • Black Friday Vinyl
      • New This Week
      • Spose*Mart
      • Upcoming Vinyl
      • Collectable Vinyl
      • Blu-ray Preview
      • Old Record Store Day
      • Holiday Gift Ideas
  • About
    • About us
    • Bull Moose Points
    • Consignment
    • Video Game Console Return Policy
    • Contact us
    • Contests
    • This Week @ Bull Moose
    • FAQs
    • Gift Cards
    • Employment
    • Locations/Hours
    • My Account
    • News and Events
    • Newsletter Signup
    • Privacy Policy
  • Menu
    • Music
      • CDs
      • Vinyl
    • Gift Cards
    • Movies
      • DVD
      • Blu-Ray
      • 3D Blu-Ray
      • 4K Ultra HD
    • Video Games
      • XBox 360
      • Xbox One
      • PS4
      • Playstation 3
      • Wii
      • Nintendo 3DS
      • Sony PSV
      • Nintendo DS
      • Wii U
    • Books
      • Children's
      • Fiction
      • Graphic Novels
      • Nonfiction
      • Young Adult
      • Coloring Books
      • Audio Books
    • Gifts
    • Gaming
      • Gaming Cards
      • Board Games & Books
    • Specials
      • 33.3% Off Vinyl Sale
      • Black Friday Vinyl
      • New This Week
      • Spose*Mart
      • Upcoming Vinyl
      • Collectable Vinyl
      • Blu-ray Preview
      • Old Record Store Day
      • Holiday Gift Ideas
    • About
      • About us
      • Bull Moose Points
      • Consignment
      • Video Game Console Return Policy
      • Contact us
      • Contests
      • This Week @ Bull Moose
      • FAQs
      • Gift Cards
      • Employment
      • Locations/Hours
      • My Account
      • News and Events
      • Newsletter Signup
      • Privacy Policy
Specials
33.3% Off Vinyl Sale
Black Friday Vinyl
New This Week
Spose*Mart
Upcoming Vinyl
Collectable Vinyl
Blu-ray Preview
Old Record Store Day
Holiday Gift Ideas

Thomas C. Foster

How to Read Novels Like a Professor

Thomas C. Foster How To Read Novels Like A Professor A Jaunty Exploration Of The World's Favorite Lite
$11.19 New
 
Out of stock, but available. Should ship in 2-3 days

Add To Basket
 




Main description:

Of all the literary forms, the novel is arguably the most discussed . . . and fretted over. From Miguel de Cervantes's Don Quixote to the works of Jane Austen, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, and today's masters, the novel has grown with and adapted to changing societies and technologies, mixing tradition and innovation in every age throughout history.

Thomas C. Foster—the sage and scholar who ingeniously led readers through the fascinating symbolic codes of great literature in his first book, How to Read Literature Like a Professor—now examines the grammar of the popular novel. Exploring how authors' choices about structure—point of view, narrative voice, first page, chapter construction, character emblems, and narrative (dis)continuity—create meaning and a special literary language, How to Read Novels Like a Professor shares the keys to this language with readers who want to get more insight, more understanding, and more pleasure from their reading.


Connect With Us

SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment