• Music
    • CDs
    • Vinyl
  • Gift Cards
  • Movies
    • DVD
    • Blu-Ray
    • 3D Blu-Ray
    • 4K Ultra HD
  • Video Games
    • XBox 360
    • Xbox One
    • PS4
    • Playstation 3
    • Wii
    • Nintendo 3DS
    • Sony PSV
    • Nintendo DS
    • Wii U
  • Books
    • Children's
    • Fiction
    • Graphic Novels
    • Nonfiction
    • Young Adult
    • Coloring Books
    • Audio Books
  • Gifts
  • Gaming
    • Gaming Cards
    • Board Games & Books
  • Specials
    • 33.3% Off Vinyl Sale
    • Start Your Ear Off Right 2017
    • Black Friday Vinyl
    • New This Week
    • Spose*Mart
    • Upcoming Vinyl
    • Collectable Vinyl
    • Blu-ray Preview
    • Old Record Store Day
    • Holiday Gift Ideas
  • About
    • About us
    • Bull Moose Points
    • Consignment
    • Video Game Console Return Policy
    • Contact us
    • Contests
    • This Week @ Bull Moose
    • FAQs
    • Gift Cards
    • Employment
    • Locations/Hours
    • My Account
    • News and Events
    • Newsletter Signup
    • Privacy Policy
  • Menu
    • Music
      • CDs
      • Vinyl
    • Gift Cards
    • Movies
      • DVD
      • Blu-Ray
      • 3D Blu-Ray
      • 4K Ultra HD
    • Video Games
      • XBox 360
      • Xbox One
      • PS4
      • Playstation 3
      • Wii
      • Nintendo 3DS
      • Sony PSV
      • Nintendo DS
      • Wii U
    • Books
      • Children's
      • Fiction
      • Graphic Novels
      • Nonfiction
      • Young Adult
      • Coloring Books
      • Audio Books
    • Gifts
    • Gaming
      • Gaming Cards
      • Board Games & Books
    • Specials
      • 33.3% Off Vinyl Sale
      • Start Your Ear Off Right 2017
      • Black Friday Vinyl
      • New This Week
      • Spose*Mart
      • Upcoming Vinyl
      • Collectable Vinyl
      • Blu-ray Preview
      • Old Record Store Day
      • Holiday Gift Ideas
  • About
    • About us
    • Bull Moose Points
    • Consignment
    • Video Game Console Return Policy
    • Contact us
    • Contests
    • This Week @ Bull Moose
    • FAQs
    • Gift Cards
    • Employment
    • Locations/Hours
    • My Account
    • News and Events
    • Newsletter Signup
    • Privacy Policy
  • Menu
    • Music
      • CDs
      • Vinyl
    • Gift Cards
    • Movies
      • DVD
      • Blu-Ray
      • 3D Blu-Ray
      • 4K Ultra HD
    • Video Games
      • XBox 360
      • Xbox One
      • PS4
      • Playstation 3
      • Wii
      • Nintendo 3DS
      • Sony PSV
      • Nintendo DS
      • Wii U
    • Books
      • Children's
      • Fiction
      • Graphic Novels
      • Nonfiction
      • Young Adult
      • Coloring Books
      • Audio Books
    • Gifts
    • Gaming
      • Gaming Cards
      • Board Games & Books
    • Specials
      • 33.3% Off Vinyl Sale
      • Start Your Ear Off Right 2017
      • Black Friday Vinyl
      • New This Week
      • Spose*Mart
      • Upcoming Vinyl
      • Collectable Vinyl
      • Blu-ray Preview
      • Old Record Store Day
      • Holiday Gift Ideas
    • About
      • About us
      • Bull Moose Points
      • Consignment
      • Video Game Console Return Policy
      • Contact us
      • Contests
      • This Week @ Bull Moose
      • FAQs
      • Gift Cards
      • Employment
      • Locations/Hours
      • My Account
      • News and Events
      • Newsletter Signup
      • Privacy Policy
Specials
33.3% Off Vinyl Sale
Start Your Ear Off Right 2017
Black Friday Vinyl
New This Week
Spose*Mart
Upcoming Vinyl
Collectable Vinyl
Blu-ray Preview
Old Record Store Day
Holiday Gift Ideas

Howard Andrew Jones

The Desert of Souls

Howard Andrew Jones The Desert Of Souls
$15.39 New
 
Out of stock, but available. Should ship in 2-3 days

Add To Basket
 




The glittering tradition of sword-and-sorcery sweeps into the sands of ancient Arabia with the heart-stopping speed of a whirling dervish in this thrilling debut

In 8th century Baghdad, the scholar Dabir realizes that a jeweled tablet may unlock secrets hidden within the lost city of Ubar, the Atlantis of the sands. But when the tablet is stolen by a cunning Greek spy and a fire wizard of the Magi, Dabir and Captain Asim go after it on the life-or-death adventure of a lifetime...

Praise for THE DESERT OF SOULS:

""The Desert of Souls is filled with adventure, magic, compelling characters and twists that are twisty. This is seriously cool stuff."" - Steven Brust, New York Times bestselling author of the Vlad Taltos series

“A grand and wonderful adventure filled with exotic magic and colorful places — like a cross between Sinbad and Indiana Jones.” -- Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times bestselling author of The Map of All Things

“Like the genie of the lamp, Howard Jones has granted this reader's wish for a fresh, exciting take on the venerable genre of sword-and-sorcery!” --Richard A. Knaak, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Legends of the Dragonrealm

""Howard Andrew Jones spins an exciting and suspenseful tale in his historical fantasy debut. A rich, detailed tapestry -- part Arthur Conan Doyle, part Robert E. Howard, and part Omar Khayyam, woven in the magical thread of One Thousand And One Nights."" -- E.E. Knight, Author of the bestselling Vampire Earth

An entertaining and enjoyable journey into a world of djinns and magic far darker than expected, yet one that ends with hope, both for the characters... and that there will be yet another book.”  -- L. E. Modesitt, Jr,  author of the Recluse Saga, the Imager Portfolio, and the Corean Chronicles

""A modern iteration of old school storytelling. Highly recommended to anyone in search of a fun run through strange lands and times."" -- Glen Cook, author of The Black Company Series

“Suspenseful and charming.” –Charlaine Harris

""Howard Jones wields magic like a subtle blade and action like a mighty cleaver in his scimitars and sorcery tale, weaving together Arabian myth, history, and some honest-to-gosh surprises to create a unique story that you’ll not soon forget.""  -- Monte Cook, author of The Dungeon Masters Guide, 3rd Edition

""A rousing tale of swords against sorcery. Howard Jones writes with wit and flair. His world is involving, authentic and skilfully evoked. The best fantasy novel I have read all year."" -- William King, Author of the Space Wolf trilogy and creator of Gotrek and Felix

""A whirlwind tale of deserts, djinn and doors to other worlds, told in a voice perfectly pitched for the style and setting."" --Nathan Long, author of Bloodborn and Shamanslayer

“An Arabian Nights adventure as written by Robert E Howard. It is exciting, inventive, and most of all fun.” --Dave Drake, author of The Legion of Fire

“As richly textured as an antique rug, this fantasy-mystery sweeps readers into ancient Baghdad.… Asim's dazzling swordplay, his Muslim piety, and his unwavering loyalty to his friend balance Dabir's bittersweet devotion to Sabirah as the pair battle forbidden magic that forces them to slice away layers of their own spirits. Their antagonist, evil Zarathustrian sorcerer Firouz, poses moral questions that deepen this multicolored Arabian-nights tale, as does the plight of pretty, quick-witted Sabirah, who prizes scholarship and lives for the moment while facing the fate of a political marriage. A captivating setting and well-realized characters make this a splendid flying-carpet ride.” –Publishers Weekly

“An exciting, colorfully written novel with engaging characters and a story that mixes fantasy and real-world elements. It should appeal to readers of fast-paced historical mysteries.” --Booklist

""But though comparisons to the likes of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Robert E. Howard are merited due to plot and authorial provenance, there’s an even more fundamental similarity. At its heart, Jones’ work is a great read—a page-turner in its purest form. As such, The Desert of Souls is a powerful place—it can wreck sleeping schedules, cause chores to be neglected and, best of all, make one yearn for the next installment."" –BookPage

""Jones's first novel blends the ambience of The Arabian Nights with the brilliant detection of Sherlock Holmes novels to produce an unusual fantasy detective novel—and a potential series opener—with wit and style. Fans of Arthur Conan Doyle, Robert E. Howard, and Middle Eastern mythology will enjoy this unusual debut."" --Library Journal

""Lives up to the best in sword and sorcery traditions... Dabir and Asim are a winning pair who complement each others’ strengths well... those who like lots of swordplay mixed with some inventive magic will likely enjoy this."" --RT BOOK Reviews

“Howard Jones proves himself a rare master of the storyteller’s art, a talent uncommon even amongst successful novelists. He’s written a pure, unapologetic, classically-structured adventure tale…. Brilliant and immediate characterization, not only for Asim, the narrator, but Dabir, as well, perfect pacing, and a truly intriguing mystery draw the reader deeply into the world of the story. At one point, a story within the story allows Jones to comment on the act of storytelling itself. The novel is polished to a mirror sheen, but it has that something extra that takes a story beyond technical excellence and into the human heart…. If you have any interest in historical fiction, fantasy adventure, Robert Howard, Harold Lamb, or the One Thousand and One Nights, you will love this book. If you’re not sure about any of those things, it’s still very possible that you may love this book. Stories that stay with me as this one has don’t come around very often, and I’m inclined to spread the word when they do.  Read this book.” –Greenmanreview.com

""One of the best debuts, likely the best debut, I’ve read since Ian Treglis’ Bitter Seeds last year.  The Desert of Souls is, in a word, awesome.... You’ll be hard pressed to find a debut as accomplished as The Desert of Souls.  This is some top notch fantasy adventure fiction that will put a grin on your face.  I want more."" --kingofthenerds.wordpress.com 

 

""Both characters are excellently realized.... This is a very satisfying first novel, and I will certainly be looking for the promised sequel."" --SFSite.com 

 

""I loved this book. This could possibly be the shortest review I ever write, because I don't know how to say it any other way: I loved this book. I wish it had been about 800 pages long. I wish I could pop in the DVD and watch the movie. I wish I had the kind of pocket change to pay Howard Andrew Jones to write me another story just like this. I wish I had the power to stop time, drop everything, and read every single one of the source texts he lists in his afterword. Heck, I wish I had the power to turn back time two days just so I could read this book all over again."" --Intergalacticmedicineshow.com 

 

""Filled with adventure, magic, evil magicians, prophecies, djinn, and nefar


Connect With Us

SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment